Rhythm

19 Sep

This picture my friend Xavier took of me makes it look like I actually know how to play guitar.

I don’t though. I have absolutely no idea. Basic chords like G and E, among others,  are simple enough, and switching between them is no problem. The problem lies in my almost frightening lack of rhythm. Anyone who has been unfortunate to witness me dance can back me up on this one. No rhythm. At all. I can’t keep time, I can’t tell what the rhythm is like in a song, so it makes it tough to learn them. I may also be tone deaf, and can’t tune the thing at all. I really wish that when I picked it up in high school, I was more serious about it, but I’m one of those guys who figures that if I’m not good at something really fast, it’s not worth doing. Needless to say, I’m not good at many things because of this. Maybe if I could master rhythm, I can turn this all around?

On the plus side, my beard looks fantastic.

7 Responses to “Rhythm”

  1. Stevie September 19, 2009 at 6:06 pm #

    be thankful for that beard, but leave the guitar playin’ to me hombre.

    • John September 20, 2009 at 1:33 am #

      I do what I want. When I want.

  2. kristinmess September 20, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    that beard is getting out of hand..

    • John September 20, 2009 at 9:13 pm #

      Please take that back.

  3. kristinmess September 21, 2009 at 1:22 am #

    • John September 21, 2009 at 8:02 pm #

      Just for that I am never shaving again.

  4. Quinn September 23, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    Zach would be proud of your beard.

Leave a comment